Click HERE for a collection of quotes from the parents and supporters who donated to Providence during the 2016 Good Giving Challenge.

Shevawn A. - November 2018
We LOVE this school! The teachers are so kind & supportive. My 2yo is thriving in the Montessori environment. She started toilet training one month after starting classes here - at only 25 months old. Her vocabulary and language comprehension are also off the charts & I give most of the credit to this school. Just can’t say enough good things!

Karen H. - October 2018
Providence is an amazing Montessori school, our children are cared and loved by each and every staff member. It is remarkable to watch your child grow while receiving a Montessori education.

Colin D. - March 2018
Providence is an incredibly diverse school, with a great campus, academics are top notch, and my children have excelled here. Highly recommended.

Tria K. - March 2017
My son cried everyday in traditional school. Now, he is thriving and happy. It warms our hearts to see such a change. He loves learning and and has a wonderful sense of belonging. I could go on and on about how wonderful this place is.

Amy S. - November 2016
I attended the preschool myself, now my daughter is there in lower elementary. I can't say enough for the depth and breadth of educational opportunities offered!

Sibby D. - November 2016
My children have attended Providence for over 10 years now and they have truly had a wonderful experience. The elementary school is fantastic but the middle school is a special place. It is such a great environment for tweens and early teens to develop into young adults. The faculty there go above and beyond for the students. I know my children will miss Providence when it is time for them to go into high school, but I believe they have been given a solid foundation for a successful future.

Sarah K. - October 2016
Amazing space for Montessori learning. Stop by to check out the most amazing way to learn.

Parent - October 2016
Overall experience - Both my daughters have been at Providence since their primary years. In each 3 year cycle through middle school I have seen amazing blossoming of their talents in all areas - academic, social, physical, psychological. The Montessori environment at Providence has been an exceptional place for them to grow.

Parent - October 2016
Leadership at this school is effective.  Providence is a parent owned school with a high level of parent participation in the running of the school. The Board of Directors is led by the Head of School and the President (a current parent) and a robust cross section of administration, staff and parents.

Parent - October 2016
This school develops strong character in its students, like integrity, compassion and respect.  One of the core Montessori cornerstones is respect and community. It is a part of the learning environment at Providence throughout each level.  Teachers at this school are are certified Montessorians, many of them have decades of experience. You just need to talk with them in depth about the experiences to know the exceptional quality of experience they bring to the classroom.

Parent - October 2016
This school has an effective approach to homework.  Homework is introduced progressively over the years at Providence as the children grow. It has never been overboard but introduces the children over time.

Parent - October 2016
This school effectively deals with bullying.  They teach peaceful resolution in all things... they have a peace pole that the children use to discuss disagreements.

 

Parent - October 2016

This school develops strong character in its students, like integrity, compassion and respect.  All of my son's peers have gone on to college experiences and are doing better than their new peers. They are taught more life skills than just content for passing tests.

Parent - September 2016

This is my child's sixth year at Providence and we are so happy it is the school we have selected for her toddler, preschool and lower elementary years. The teachers are dedicated and really get to know the children in the three year cycle. I like that my child can move at her own pace, the teachers make sure she is making progress across the required areas and also working on material that is relevant and challenging to her individual interests and strengths. I like that the children learn from each other in the multi-age classrooms and can also teach each other academics and social skills. While the location of the school is not the best, the minute you drive onto campus, you forget where you are because there are gardens, three playgrounds and beautiful areas inside and out that make it the best Montessori in Lexington. I think Montessori education is not a great fit for every child or family. However, more than most schools, Providence wants parents to be involved and engaged beyond just being task-masters for homework (in fact, there is no regular homework in lower elementary so there are no homework battles!). It is a parent-owned school and teachers welcome regular communication, texts or emails.

Parent - September 2016

This school effectively supports students with learning differences.  There are several teachers trained in Orton-Gillingham and those techniques are infused across the curriculum for children with difficulty reading. For children who are academically gifted, there is the opportunity to push as far ahead as they are able to do so. The multi-age classrooms means that children are naturally at a variety of levels across the subject areas, they can help each other and children who are at either end of the spectrum do not stand out as different to their peers.

Veronica P. - April 2016 - 5 stars
Our oldest attended k and 1st grade. He is 21yrs old now, and a College graduate! We look forward to seeing our 3yr old attend the preschool program this fall! Montessori gave our son the foundation he needed to thrive in school, and become the successful young man he is today. Providence is Powerful !!!

Bryna R. - 5 stars
Not only the best Montessori school in Lexington but the best school in Lexington PERIOD.    🙂

Parent - February 2013

It's our second year at Providence and I could not be more pleased with not only the academic quality of the education but the respectful, nurturing environment that is demonstrated in every aspect of this school. If you educate yourself about the Montessori method and then go see its flawless execution at Providence, you will wonder why anyone chooses a traditional school. I look forward to watching my children continue to blossom not only as academic beings but as well-rounded, responsible human beings and stewards of the Earth. The Montessori method fosters children's desire to learn instead of extinguishing it in the way traditional schools do....and we do it without homework which means less stress at home and more focus on family time. Providence is also competitively priced and is a downright bargain when you consider the superior education.

Parent - February 2013
This school develops strong character in its students, like integrity, compassion and respect.  Providence includes Peace as a basic part of their curriculum, starting in the toddler house. Children are expected to learn how to make peace with peers. They are taught how to resolve conflicts when they come up. In primary, this means going to the "peace corner" and talking it out. In older grades, there are more sophisticated techniques taught. With three age groups in each classroom, there are opportunities for kids to model their behavior on that of their older peers and show compassion for younger kids.

Ellie C. - 5 stars
Best school in Lexington!

Our daughter has been at Providence for 2 years, now, and our son is finishing up his first year. Although it is a huge financial sacrifice, I wholeheartedly believe there is NO better school in this town!!! Not just the academics (which are amazing, really, when you allow it to work the way it's designed to) but also the people...students AND staff! This is the most loving, respectful educational environment I've ever witnessed. And it is truly reflected in the way these children grow & develop; these are simply the best kids!!! Yes, we can go to a free public school, even a good one, and save our money for wonderful vacations....but you get MORE than what you pay for at Providence; it costs same as most private schools around here & yet is light years ahead of anything I could ever expect. They actually teach these kids HOW to THINK!!! ...and how to get along with others, respect & give back to their community, etc etc. You just need to take a tour to even get a glimpse of what it's like. Or speak to one of the attending parents. There's just too much to say in a review.

 

A Google User - 2012

Providence Montessori is a great school, with caring administrators and teachers. The school and grounds are well designed, and one of the prettiest in town with its great landscaping and old trees. Very inspiring for a young mind! We have 2 children in the school, and both of them love it so much, and seem to be ahead of most of their non-montessori peers in development, even without homework! Highly recommended.

Dorothy L. - September 2010
I found out about Providence while trying to search for a "better" alternative to my 3-year old's preschool. There are about half-a-dozen Montessori programs in Lexington but absolutely NONE like Providence.  I almost didn't want to preview the school due to the cost, but I decided to do so in order to view it as a benchmark.  Unfortunately, once I stepped on the grounds I absolutely fell in love with the campus (which is about 5 acres, or so).  The quality of the program, teachers, and personal attention is worth every penny!  Although there are a couple other "good" Montessori schools in town, there is a very big difference between the Providence and the rest of them.

We realized it was a large financial commitment, but the interviews we had with the school director, one of the teachers, and past parents made us realize that this school offered something very special.  Our daughter is definitely above average in her verbal and certain other skills, but in just one month at Providence her various skill developement was astonishing.  We also just had our first Parent-Teacher conference which even amazed my husband (and he took some convincing to go to the investigative interviews).  Our experiences so far have proven to us that for the little extra cost over what your average daycare/preschool charges, you can get something so extraordinary that the decision is a no-brainer.

I think the best testimony to the school is my daughter; she LOVES going to school!!!!  Not that she was ALWAYS kicking and screaming when we went to her previous school....but she has NOT ONCE said "I don't want to go to school today".  Just after a week of going there she insisted that I sneak into her classroom with her after school so she can show me all the cool "toys" she has played with that day.  She's so proud of her school!

We are now very excited about our son starting their toddler program there next fall.  And even more so, we are thrilled to have the first Montessori High School coming here next year!!!

Parent - September 2007
Providence is a phenomenal school! We are parents of a sixth grader and a five year-old in the Primary program. Our older child has attended there for seven years now. The director, staff and teachers are committed to achieve excellence like no other school we have ever seen. Teachers willingly do everything within their power to see that each child excels at his or her own pace. They work well with the brightest of children and those who have more difficulty and succeed with both types of students. Mutual respect and care for each other, the environment and the world around us are the cornerstones of this institution. What more could you ask for your child?

Parent - March 2007
Our three children have thrived at Providence.The atmosphere there is one that is very difficult to put into words.The mutual respect between the children and the teachers is prevelent. Just this one important factor , I feel,sets the stage for an incredible amount of learning.

Parent - December 2005
We can not say enough about the quality of education and developmental nurturing that our daughter has received at Providence. They stress each child's ability to be strong and independent, as well as emphasize that each child progresses differently. We are so happy that we chose to send our daughter to Providence and would highly recommend them to any parents looking to place their child.